Midori Traveler’s Notebook

I like notebooks, in fact I have a whole collection of notebooks as a result of numerous Christmas parties where colleagues, parents, and students have given me a whole trove of notebooks. When I first started this blog, I decided to buy an unlined 500 leaf Muji notebook. That notebook has stayed with me ever since, filled first with some initial writings for blog ideas, tickets, budget plans, itineraries and so much more. Over the years, my notebook has begun showing its age, the cover has gotten frayed but it still works. However, during our short trip to Yokohama, where we spent significant time in Tokyo Hands (seriously, this place is stationary heaven!), my fiancee gifted me a Midori Traveler’s Notebook. 

IMG_2167

Planning my wedding and future trips

First off, what in the world is a Midori Traveler’s Notebook? The first time I heard of a traveler’s notebook was from Tricia, who wanted to buy one because of all her bullet journaling friends. The notebook is basically a finely made leather covered notebook with room for many inserts, it comes in two sizes: passport and regular, otherwise known as small and big; three different colors, brown, black and camel. When I bought mine in Tokyo Hands, it came in a very exquisite package: a paper package with information about the product itself, a simple cloth bag to protect the leather and the notebook from dings and scratches, and the notebook itself.

IMG_2259

Mementos galore

From the start, it was obvious the notebook would last me a long time. The leather was thick but still flexible enough for writing on any surface, the notebooks came in lined, unlined, grid, and so many other varieties. The possibilities for this notebook are endless and only limited by your imagination.

Right now, I’ve stuck a lot of mementos in my notebook from my recent trip. Tickets from Kinkakuji, Kiyomizu-dera, the Instant Ramen Museum, and the Shinkansen, a map from Fushimi Inari, and the all-important JR pass. Aside from using the notebook for sticking mementos, I’ve also started planning my upcoming trip to Australia, jotting down layover ideas while in Singapore and thinking of places to visit in Melbourne. Thankfully, before I left Tokyo Hands, I was able to pick up another unlined notebook (Traveler’s Notebook, Regular 003) and added it to the whole setup. This other notebook is for work, notes from our professional development sessions, meetings, and whatever ideas that I come across for this school year.

After a month of using my Traveler’s Notebook, I can honestly say that picking it up as a gift was a good investment. The leaves on each notebook are filled with ideas and possibilities, memories, keepsakes, and inspire me to look for new opportunities. While I use it, the leather gets a little bit frayed and edgier with each day of use, adding another layer of character to it. The challenge now, is stopping myself from buying notebook refills and the other add-ons that Midori has to offer.

Midori Traveler’s Notebook 

You can buy a Midori Traveler’s Notebook from the following sites:

To learn more about the Traveler’s Notebook, visit their website here.

Leave a Reply

