Another year, another birthday. Happy Birthday Manila Traveler and Bookworm! This blog has certainly been my pride and joy for the past 3 years and I wouldn’t have it any other way. As I look back at all the posts I’ve made, I also looked at the posts that have made this blog fun, memorable, and helpful for many readers. To the year that was, thank you! To the readers and visitors who dropped by, here are the top 10 experiences of MT&B last year. 

  1. Kenshin Japanese Restaurant – I’ve eaten in this restaurant twice already and their rice meals are probably my favorite. Rich in flavor, simple, and no fuss I wouldn’t mind dropping by Kenshin every now and then.
  2. Paymaya – I downloaded the app back in 2015, started using it last 2016 and to be honest, it has saved me a lot of times during my travels. Great for car hailing apps like Grab and Uber, a wonder for Bookdepository, and a good place to keep your emergency money while traveling.
  3. The Book Depository – undoubtedly one of the best book buying and bookworm experiences I encountered last year. All those books at my fingertips and with Paymaya loaded, all the hard-to-find-books are now just waiting at my doorstep.
  4. Netflix – when Netflix announced that they were coming over, I couldn’t be more excited. Hours and hours of binge watching Netflix Originals and reruns of old shows and movies have certainly made the defense of cutting our cable totally justifiable. I still need to find a great VPN to access some shows not on the Philippine site.
  5. Trekking Mt. Pinatubo – I honestly don’t know what came over me to agree to this adventure, but I have no regrets. Seeing the barren wasteland, hiking trails and forests and seeing the crater up close and personal…perfect. I just don’t think I’ll be repeating the experience again.
  6. Roll Play Game Lounge – one of the newest game lounges to open. After Dyce N’ Dyne’s closure, Roll Play is now the next best thing to the experience. With Php. 99 I get unlimited play on all their games and I get to buy food and drinks from the nearby restaurants, it’s a win-win.
  7. Tamagoya Noodle House – cheap, affordable, and just amazingly good. I definitely enjoyed their chicken karaage, I just wish I could have tried a different ramen than the one we ordered that day. Regardless, I can’t wait to come back and try out new things.
  8. Ta Ke Ho Me – when the Yard Underground in Pasig opened a few weeks ago, Ta Ke Ho Me was the first place I wanted to try out. 8 small bite sized maki for the wonderful, wonderful price of Php. 99, you get what you pay for, but the allure of maki is just to irresistable.
  9. Japanese Visa in the Philippines – after dreaming of Japan for nearly a decade I am heading there this April. Prepare the stuff you need, be honest, and hope for the best!
  10. South Korea on a budget – 7 months ago I went on my first solo trip to South Korea. It was a great adventure filled with museums and amazing food trips.
