It’s no denying it, I love card games and I have always been fascinated by board games. There’s nothing better than sitting down on the floor or on the table, shuffling cards or setting up pieces around the board. Nothing beats also the feeling of learning the rules and devising strategies to beat your opponent or that thrill of successfully achieving one of the side quests in Ticket to Ride. Last Friday, I got the opportunity to visit another board game cafe, Ludo, along Jupiter Street in Makati City. 

When Dyce N’ Dyne opened a year ago, I was excited, board game cafes were slowly picking up and it had been years sine I last played a board game or a even a card game. When my friends and I decided to start playing Splendor, Exploding Kittens, and Sushi Go after work, my interest only grew from there. Occasionally we would visit Dyce N’ Dyne, it being the closest, and we would always have a good time.

31697639036_1591ef23b9_k_d
Shelves and shelves of games

Last Friday, after our Christmas dinner (and a whole lot of traffic in between), Tricia, her sister Luisa, and I trekked all the way to Jupiter Street to try out Ludo. Like Dyce N’ Dyne, Ludo was alive with so many people playing. There was a whole shelf of games that stretched a good 10 tables side by side. There were familiar games and not so familiar games, I immediately made a beeline for the standards: Exploding Kittens, Sushi Go, Love Letter, and either Ticket to Ride or Splendor. However, the night was packed in Ludo and I ended up with Love Letter: Batman Edition, Sushi Go, and Coup, while Tricia lugged around a board game, The Pursuit of Happiness.

31619605941_cf045b25ec_k_d
Getting ready to play

Nestled comfortably in our own little world, we began to play and ordered. I guess when it comes to these kinds of cafes where people can spend hours and hours on a single drink or uneaten meal, management has to impose rules. And follow those rules we did: we ordered a special drink (Salted Caramel milkshake) and special meal (nachos) so that we could stay and play.

30925422413_71a03cd105_k_d
Packed night

With our food in order, I quickly went through the rules of Sushi Go and found myself losing many rounds. Apparently I am not really good in matching games or card games. After we got bored of Sushi Go, Tricia chose our next game, The Pursuit of Happiness. A board game with a lot of pieces and layered instructions. In this case, one of Ludo’s many board game masters were on hand to help us out and stick with us for a couple of rounds.

30925412313_420edb4296_k_d
Making choices in life and in board games about life

That night, the whole place was packed and sometimes it got really hard to hear anything. There were times when we would get annoyed by the laughter of one group, but having been to DnD, I decided to just chalk it up to the fun times we were all having. We ended at around 11:30, with a few wins and losses along the way (I got floored in Sushi Go but I won Pursuit of Happiness by a mile), a Php. 750 bill and a lot of good memories. Before we ended the night, we decided to check out some of their games on sale. Tricia looked for Sushi Go, while I looked for Yardmaster, unfortunately we came out empty handed but with the promise of returning for more fun and games.

Ludo Boardgame Bar and Bistro

Budget: ~Php. 1,000 for two 
#38 Jupiter Street
Makati City
Schedule 
Tues – Thurs 5:00pm – 12:00mn
Friday: 5:00pm – 2:00am
Saturday: 12:00pm – 2:00am 
Sunday: 12:00nn – 12:00mn

