Having lived in Pasig my entire life, I have settled for the usuals: Three Sisters for my rustic-Filipino cuisine, Charlie’s for my cholesterol-American diet binges, Mad Marks for my dessert cravings, and a host of other restaurants in Kapitolyo that never fail to excite my senses, but most especially my palate. I have been going to Pioneer Center ever since it opened back in the early 2000s. Since then, it has evolved inwards and outwards with exciting new restaurants for loyal customers and casual visitors alike to try out. One gem I found in the recently constructed wing of Pioneer Center is Takashi Japanese Cuisine. 

Ever since my trip to Ooma with Tricia, my palate can’t seem to get enough of Japanese food. It just so happened, and with the help of a list I saw on phonebooky, that I saw Takashi. I just couldn’t pass up the chance to try it out and once again found my seated on a red sofa with Japanese lanterns and paintings hanging in front of me.

29716487105_a53367cf31_k_d
This should be called wasabi infused salmon sashimi

For starters, I had the crazy maki and a plate of spicy salmon sashimi. The first plate to arrive was the spicy salmon sashimi, thick slices of raw sashimi mixed tossed in spicy salad dressing. This was certainly like Nihonbashitei’s spicy tuna sashimi without the crunchy bits. The salmon was soft and creamy, while the dressing had hints of wasabi mixed into it. Certainly not as spicy as I had expected it, but the wasabi added some oomph and surprise to the dish.

29716468985_bc224f13ad_k_d
A little more kani would be nice 

If you’ve ever been to Yuujin along Wilson street in Greenhills, their crazy maki is absolutely the best I have ever tasted. The one I had in Takashi, lets just say that it still needs some work in the helpings department. The usual trappings of shredded crabsticks and tempura batter were there on top, but not as much I wanted. Nevertheless, the maki was still good but without the magic of the crazy kani on top, it wasn’t as delicious.

29425410560_dc7a334040_k_d
Takashi’s katsudon was delicious and the pork strips were soft and chewy
29091943213_0e8765a879_k_d
Something to break the flavors

With my katsudon and two pieces of tamago on the side, I was ready to call it a day. I was filled and happy with the pieces of maki and katsudon I had just devoured. Takashi was a good experience, its affordability makes it the type of restaurant I’d go back to if I don’t have any options left.

Takashi Japanese Cuisine 

Pioneer Street, Barangay Kapitolyo. Pasig City 
Open daily from 11:30am to 11:00pm
Check out their menu here

