Here’s the situation, we didn’t have enough gas to cook our food for lunch today, so what’s the next best thing? Eat out of course! There were quite a few options to choose from, Kapitolyo is my next door neighbor so there are really lot of selections, then there’s Estancia with its equally good restaurants, and then there’s Shangri-la Mall. Naturally my brother chose Shangri-La and we decided to try out something only Shang has. That unique thing was Epicurious, a very high-end turo-turo. 

24702016786_77f1cd3957_k_d
Meats and chill, it was that type of Sunday

Turo-turo is the Filipino colloquialism for street food, point at the food you want and have it cooked right on the spot. It’s nothing new and the concept has been around for ages, even in delicatessens. This being my first time to try out the turo-turo in its high end form I was excited.

Epicurious’ selections of pork was quite extensive: pastrami, ham, salami, sausages of varying kinds and sizes; on the other side of was a cabinet filled with different varieties of bread. My brothers and I ordered sausages, a bowl of paella rice, French pizza, ham, and rye bread after going through their meat and ready-to-eat section.

24702005796_e0cba383b4_k_d
My spicy French pizza

After having been letdown by previous eating experiences in the past two days, I am happy that I hit the jackpot when I ordered the French pizza. Aromatic, oozing with cheese and peppered up to the nines, my pizza tasted excellent. As for my brothers’ orders: the sausage was quite spicy and the paella rice could do with a little more flavor, the ham was soft and was sweet but not too much, while the rye bread went well with both the sausage and the ham.

It was a good meal and cheap for standard Shangri-La prices. All in all we spent around Php. 300 each and we had a lot of fun sharing our food. Though a word of caution, their meats are spicy and I guess when you have it cooked you can adjust to your preference.

Price range: Php. 300-500/person, it depends on the meat you order. 
Epicurious is located at Level 1 East Wing, Shangri-La Plaza Mall, Mandaluyong City. They are open everyday from 11am to 10pm. 

