It’s hard keeping track of all the new restaurants popping up in Kapitolyo. I remember a time when it was just Charlie’s, Three Sisters, Poco Deli, and Mad Marks, then suddenly an explosion from Locavore, Nav, Taco Vengo, Kanto Style Breakfast just to name a few. For this Quick Bite post, I decided to try out Kapitolyo Gastro Park. I have seen and heard about this place through Facebook and Instagram posts from friends and colleagues, so on the way home I decided to try it out. 

From the outside Gastro Park looks like any ordinary park until I saw the food stalls surrounding the central eating area. The Park sort of felt like Little Tokyo, restaurants surround diners where they can order from any of the restaurants.

IMG_2362.jpg
Try this place out while it’s still cool 

Since there were a lot to choose from I decided to go for something safe and affordable. On one side there were a lot of fusion food stalls: Thai-Mex, Tex-Mex, and whatever Mex chefs can come up with. Playing safe I saw Bagneto, with its big pig logo and the words: “Bagnet”, “Sisig” and “Rice” looming large I just couldn’t resist. Apart from the magnet I also ordered a mango-tamarind drink from the El Phante, total cost for my meal Php. 125 for the magnet and Php. 30 for the drink.

IMG_2357.jpg
A lot of interesting cuisines 

When I saw my order my heart sunk. Yes I was served bagnet but because I was spoiled by 8065 in Taft and my trip to Ilocos, my standards for a heart attack inducing meal in Manila are pretty high. In front of me were thin strips of liempo passing of as bagnet and more rice than I actually wanted. The sauce it came with had more flavor than the pork itself which was thin, bland, and downright boring.

IMG_2360.jpg
I felt a bit depressed wth my choice

In the end I wish I had just waited for another trip to Taft and had real bagnet over the one I ordered. Or better yet, if I had just trusted my gut feeling and had been more adventurous I would have been enjoying a delicious Thai-Mex or whatever Mex meal. The good thing about this experience, I know I can try out other cuisines in the future and be a little bit more adventurous next time.

Gastro Park Kapitolyo is located at #12 1st Street, Kapitolyo. Pasig City. Price range Php. 200-500

