I get super excited visiting new bookshops
I get super excited visiting new bookshops

For the longest time I have wanted to visit the oft-blogged Bookay-Ukay in Maginhawa, Quezon City. The problem was its location, Quezon City, a place I rarely go and visit because its sheer immensity, winding streets, and its largess frightens me. But yesterday, I decided it was time to take that leap of faith and explore Maginhawa’s literary book scene.

Boxes and piles of books
Boxes and piles of books, spotted Lyra’s Oxford

In Bookay-ukay I found shelves lined with tomes and books filled with character. Every nook and cranny was filled to the brim with all sorts of books in a wide-array of topics. Every where I looked there was a book that caught my eye and I just couldn’t stop looking. Like Quezon City, the sheer immensity was enough to overwhelm me.

Get lost in shelves lined with all sorts of adventures
Get lost in shelves lined with all sorts of adventures

That still did not deter me from spotting interesting titles here and there, one shelf had a lot of YA and children’s books, and another had all sorts of titles on philosophy, politics, and gender issues.

Something new and interesting waiting to be found
Something new and interesting waiting to be found

Books were scattered here and there, which made the hunt even more thrilling, because you never know what book you might come across. The moment I saw Bookay-Ukay I spotted Phillip Pullman’s “Lyra’s Oxford”, a book I have been looking for since 2007. At Php. 50 it was a steal given the rarity and its condition, looks like its previous owner read it once and didn’t give a hoot after. That’s the thing about Bookay-ukay, because it caters to secondhand books, don’t expect any new novels, like the follow-up to Robert Galbraith’s The Silkworm (which I want to get), and if any these would cost about the same if you got it in National or FullyBooked. Book conditions may vary, most are well-worn, heavily leafed, dogeared and paged through but all are loved and eager to bring you on a new adventure.

Don't forget to be a kid every now and then
Don’t forget to be a kid every now and then

I could spend a whole day looking at all of the books in Bookay’s shelves and I would surely find another treasure, a gem, or a diamond in the rough. The possibilities are endless and that’s what excites me, the random and chaotic nature of Bookay-ukay is what I think draws people to shop for books. Besides the discounted prices, there’s always something new that you might have missed the first time you visited.

I'll be fine browsing their bookshelves for an entire day
I’ll be fine browsing their bookshelves for an entire day

Bookay-Ukay is located at #78 Maginhawa Street, Quezon City
You may visit their Facebook page here

