Sip and Gogh

Picture

Welcome to Sip and Gogh

Everyone loves art, some live and breathe it because it is their profession, others have money to spare to buy art, others are just engrossed and fascinated with the way people make it. After visiting Salcedo’s Art in the Park last week, I was pretty much hung over from seeing all those art pieces on display and the frustrated artist in me was somewhat craving or screaming to get back home and make my own. Well true enough, I did get to make my own, though I had to wait for a week just to make my own painting. Last Saturday and after a little more than 8 months of planning, me and Tricia finally got the chance to visit Sip and Gogh Art Studio in Capitol Hills, Quezon City.

Picture

Seeing and entering the Sip and Gogh studio for the first time was like stepping into the workshop of a very prolific artist/gallery. Nestled on top of tables, displayed prominently on shelves and prominently displayed on shelves were paintings for all the world to see. There were a lot of styles that made browsing through these paintings interesting. It was a good thing we were quite early for our 4pm appointment that I was able to enjoy and browse through the paintings beforehand. Earlier on I had been dreading what I would be painting that had something to do with Santorini, it being the theme of that afternoon’s workshop.

Picture

Works you can copy

Picture

Something to look forward to
Without finding anything else, it was time to face the reality that I wouldn’t be able to paint anything under the Santorini theme and I just decided to wing it. When 4pm came, we were finally joined by other guests and the workshop began. Putting on our very cutesy aprons that had some manner of quote that made use of Vincent Van Gogh’s surname. At first it was just me and Tricia ignoring the other guests as we tried drawing whatever we wanted. As you all know I am a teacher and I found it odd that I wasn’t listening to the person in front. Apparently the person in front was our instructor for the afternoon and he was teaching us how to paint the Santorini street that we had saw on their website when we first signed up.

Picture

Our instructor

Not wanting to get frustrated at whatever I was about to do and of course not wanting to waster perfectly good money and a canvas at that, I decided to just copy whatever the instructor was doing at that point. Now seeing that I had missed the first minutes of his lecture, it was quite easy to pick up where he had left off and since I had done a lot of copy drawings before, I had his work and the painting being displayed copied in seconds. Tricia on the other hand, was busily creating rose bushes for her painting, when she saw what I was doing she too decided to copy the Santorini painting.

Picture

Their rules

Picture

Rainbow

Picture

Who’s the more creative one?
After all the copying and pencil outlining the painting begins. The instructor would tell us which paint to mix and where it would go, easy enough since he was demonstrating it all. But at some point when the colors started blending with one another I sort of got lost. Even during my days in my drafting elective class I never knew how to do color gradients and mixing properly. It was a bit difficult but with the Sip and Gogh artists hovering here and there, they were all too happy to help and give some comments on how to hold your brush or mix the colors.

Picture

Food and painting
As I was painting the staff would go around taking orders from us, asking what drink we would like to have. It was the usual fare, fruit drinks or soda, if you want to get classy you can add P200 for a glass of wine. Of course, I opted for the fruit drink. The service was quick, your choice of fruit drink plus a platter of meat, cheeses, pate and bread. The moments of rest and having a quick snack helps drive the creative juices, giving me the opportunity to look at my work and see if there are other parts that I can improve on.

Picture

Beautiful

Picture

My work
At the end of the two hour workshop, there is the feeling of accomplishment as you see your work come alive and make more sense. The outlining and the final retouches gave my paining more life and what I believe to be depth. But more than that, the workshop just showed me who was the more creative and artsy one in this relationship. A lot of the staff and the co-owner, were visibly happy with the way Tricia’s work came out. Complimenting her Santorini painting by incorporating the rose bushes she had made earlier on. Listening to their praises of her work gave me snippets of the work of others, most of the people who had attended the workshop were very technical, whereas as me and Tricia, we were going for the whimsical and just plain having fun.

Picture

For a two and a half hour session and the for the price that we paind (P1,000 each) it wasn’t a bad way to start of the summer. The food may have been bland and the drinks not refillable, but all of that is weighed against the time and effort the instructors give to teach you how to make that painting. Plus the materials are of good quality so at that price, everything is reasonable. As mentioned earlier there were a lot of paintings on display and some of those in attendance were actually painting other scenes for their enjoyment. It was a pleasure watching them do their craft as they tried to emulate what had already been done.

Picture

Something to think about
Sip and Gogh is at 1 Capitol Hills Drive, Capitol GreenStreet. Old Balara, Quezon City. 
You may check their workshops and register for that workshop by visiting their website here
You may also call them at 0999-887-6190
Leave a Reply

